The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear  - Open Wheel Racing Series based in California - Alumni have moved into Indy Lights, Pro Mazda Championship, Indy Lights, Indy Car, and SportsCar Racing
Joseph Burton-Harris has been named a finalist in the 2015 Mazda Road To 24 Shootout.  JBH, competed this year in the GoPro Grand Prix with the Formula Car Challenge and won both races.
Formula Car Challenge Racers Invade Thunderhill for Championship Rounds Five and Six

Willow, CA
May 18th, 2016

The FCC Mazda powered open wheel racers visited Thunderhill Raceway Park this weekend for the second of two double headers that were schedule during the 2016 season. Many of the drivers took advantage of the extra test day on Friday, and on Saturday morning 28 Group 2 cars headed out for an additional practice session before qualifying.

Round 5 Pole Positions:
FormulaSPEED (FA Class) Carter Williams 1:46.936
Formula Mazda (FM Class) Bruce Carpenter 1:50.528

Carter Williams took the green flag from FormulaSPEED pole position and was able to keep it there for the duration. Pierre-Paul Baradat, who was in his first FCC event, had an early attempt at passing Williams for the lead, and battled with both VMB team drivers for the duration of the race. Sugianto eventually was able to pass Baradat for second. Baradat rounded out the top three, and secured his first series FormulaSPEED podium in his very first race.

In Formula Mazda, pole-sitter Bruce Carpenter got a great start and held on to an early lead. Mid race Stew Tabak was able to get by Carpernter. Meanwhile, multi-year champion Bill Weaver had to start from the back and was gaining position after position. He eventually made it up to second, but did not have enough for eventual race winner Stew Tabak.


1st - Carter Williams
2nd - Jonathan Sugianto
3rd - Pierre-Paul Baradat

Formula Mazda:
1st – Stew Tabak
2nd – Bill Weaver
3rd – Bruce Carpenter

On Sunday afternoon, the competitors hit the track for Round 6 qualifying.

Round 6 Pole Positions:
FormulaSPEED (FA Class) Jonathan Sugianto 1:48.207
Formula Mazda (FM Class) Bill Weaver 1:50.389

When the green flag dropped the VMB drivers, along with newcomer Baradat, battled to take the lead. Sugianto held them off and secured another win, which gives him the championship lead by just two points. In Formula Mazda Weaver, Tabak, and Carpenter raced hard with Weaver taking the win. Weaver is now leading the championship over Tabak by just one point!


1st – Jonathan Sugianto
2nd – Carter Williams
3rd – Tao Takaoka

Formula Mazda:
1st – Bill Weaver
2nd – Stew Tabak
3rd – Kevin Rogers

At every Formula Car Challenge event series partners provide additional awards to the competitors. Select drivers were awarded complimentary Goodyear Racing tires. Sugianto, Weaver, Williams and Carpenter were each presented with The Molecule Pole Award. The Molecule Pole Award is given to the fastest qualifier in each class. The award includes a selection of Molecule suit care products. Bill Weaver received the first Redline Oil Hard Charger Award of the season. Next up on the FCC schedule is a double-header at Sonoma Raceway with the NorCal NASA Park June 18th and 19th.

More information:

The Formula Car Challenge is an open wheel racing series powered by Mazda - It features 3 classes, the Pro Formula Mazda, The Formula Mazda, and the FormulaSPEED2.0. These are the fastest open wheel cars racing on the West Coast of the United States - Series is based in California
Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Official Insider Newsletter - get latest updates, news, videos, and racing insider info every month. Team in the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Like the Formula Car Challenge on FACEBOOK Follow the Formula Car Challenge on Twitter World Speed Incorporated Get the latest news, results, photos, videos, and more from the most popular open wheel racing series on the web. The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is on FACEBOOK - Connect with this US West Coast Open Wheel Racing Series. Many of our graduates have move up into the Mazda Road to Indy, and as high as IndyCar! Follow the Formula Car Challenge on TWITTER - Find out what is happening in the championship, and learn about our drivers who have graduated to the Pro Mazda Championship, Indy Lights, and IndyCar. The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear - ProAm Open Wheel Racing Series that has graduated drivers into IndyCar and other top level racing series. About the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Schedules and Results from the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear Contact the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear - The series that has graduated drivers into the Mazda Road to Indy and all the way up to the IndyCar Series