## 2018 Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma FCC / FPU Driver Talking Points

Nick Woodman is the founder of GoPro, and has been a friend of the series since its inception in 2005. Woodman will be racing in the GoPro **Pro FM** with support from Sonoma Raceway based Auto Spa. Woodman has podiumed in this event in the past. He is very fast especially considering how rarely he gets to race.

Scott Huffaker is leading the Formula Pro USA Championship (F4), and has won 8 out of 10 races so far this season.

**Courtney Crone** began racing at age four in Karts, and quickly progressed into Quarter Midgets. After a succesful Midget career she started racing Speedway Motorcycles, winning 12 Speedway main events and capturing two championships. In 2015, Crone moved into cars and won in Sprint and Midget races in her rookie season. In 2016 she won another Sprint Car championship, and the SoCal regional Formula Mazda Championship. She was selected as a 2017 and 2018 VMB Driver Development Scholarship winner, and continues to race in other series when she isn't in her **FormulaSPEED**.

Kyle Loh is the 2018 F4 Winter Series Champion, and has scored wins in the Formula Pro USA regular season.

Jay Horak has already won seven races so far this season and is the owner of Star Race Cars (the manufacturer of the **Pro Formula Mazda**) Horak has also competed on the Pro Mazda Championship tour and has been on the Expert and National Class podiums.

**Derry O'Donovan** has been running in the series since its inception in 2005. He has won the **Formula Mazda** Winter Series Championship, is always a threat to win races, and has finished as high as second in the regular season championships.

**Brad Drew** has finished in the top 5 in the FCC **Formula Mazda** Championship in the past three seasons. He is often battling at the front of the FM field, and is currently in third place in the championship.

**Ricardo Arruda** races his **Formula Mazda** with the assistance of multiple FCC champion Cameron Parsons who provides coaching and car preparation to Arruda. This is Ricardo's third visit to the Indy GoPro Grand Prix of Sonoma. His has finished inside the top ten at this event.

**Patrick O'Neill** won **Pro FM** championships in 2006, 2007, and 2008. He lives minutes from the track and is here often testing in his Pro FM or his shifter kart. Although he hasn't competed in the FCC this season, he is certainly considered a favorite to be at the front.

**Bill Weaver** has been racing **Formula Mazda**s since 1995 and has won countless races, and championships in this class with the SCCA and NASA. He is considered the "guy to beat" at most local tracks in the FM class.

Jarrett Voorhies secured the pole position at the 2017 SCCA National Championships at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, and finished second. Voorhies has many **FM** wins under his belt, and is always a contender.

Stan Kohls has competed in every single season in **Pro FM** since the series began in 2005. He has scored two FCC Pro FM championships and countless podiums.

Tao Takaoka - Finished 3rd in the 2016 SCCA Spec Miata Championship. Tao has been racing in the **FormulaSPEED** class in select events since 2015. He is a regular podium finisher.

**Stew Tabak** - Stew has been multi-year champion Bill Weaver's nemisis for years, and came within only a few points of stealing the 2016 and 2017 **Formula Mazda** championship from him. Tabak is running a limited schedule in 2018.

Sean Prewett – Won the 2008 SCCA Formula Atlantic Championship in his **Pro FM**, and has visited the podium in the FCC many times in the over 10 years he has raced with the series.

Ryan McElwee holds the current track record at Sonoma Raceway in F4, and is in his rookie season in cars.

Bruce Semler is currently 2nd in the Formula Mazda Class Championship in only his second season of competition in the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear.

**Rayce Dykstra** started racing at 7 years old Rayce won several championships over a very successful karting career. In 2017 Rayce transitioned from national level karting to car racing with significant success. He is the youngest driver ever to win the SCCA Rookie of the Year and the Rocky Mountain Division Spec Miata Championship. He was awarded a VMB Driver Development Scholarship to race in the 2018 **FormulaSPEED** championship.

Joe Gardner is a 2018 FCC rookie, and has already secured podium finishes. He is racing in the Pro FM class.

**David Hollander** competed in **Pro FM** races when the series was just getting started, and has returned to participate in the Indy GP of Sonoma. Hollander competed in the Pro Mazda Championship in 2007 as well.

Robert Merrit has joined the FCC this season after many successful years vintage racing a 1985 Ralt RT/5 Super Vee. Merritt competes in the **Pro FM** class.

Liam Snyder is a young racer who has competed in F2000, Spec Miata, and GPFour. He has already won races at NOLA and COTA, and is making his FCC debut in the FM class.

Christopher Tarhan is in his rookie season with the FCC. He is running a limited schedule, but has podiumed in four out of four FM races.

Bryce Cornet started racing at the age of six, he was a successful karter and has moved into the FM class where he has already racked up an impressive list of wins and track records.

Bryson Lew started racing karts at 8 years old. He is a Rotax champion, and was a World Speed Rising Star Award winner. Lew won in his first weekend in the FormulaSPEED class, and is always a threat to win.

John Purcell has won 5 Pro FM races this season, and currently is second in the championship.

Calder McWhinney has podiumed in all 8 FPU races he has competed in this season.(F4)

Anson Pfaff's inaugural race weekend in F4 is at this event. Pfaff has had extensive success in the PNW in the SCCA Spec Racer class.